skip navigation

2023 MCPS All-County Volleyball Teams Announced!

By MVSA VBC, 12/13/23, 5:30PM EST


MCPS announced their all-county teams for the 2023 season and it is chock full of familiar names. And for the third year in a row, one of MVSA's own has been voted Player of the Year!  Read More

Every year, MCPS coaches gather together and vote for the players they feel had the biggest impact on the season. The players selected are given "all-county" honors. It is an incredible accomplishment for anyone chosen. While it is always fantastic to see familiar names on the list, this year's list is filled with the names of so many MVSA players and alum, it practically looks like one of our team rosters.

Ema Djordjevic (Junior/Starz 17) also won Player of the Year honors. It is an amazing honor for her, especially considering she is only a junior. It caps off an amazing season for Ema that saw her, and her all-county teammates Casey Bradley, Corinne Howard, Caroline Kay, and Ellie Mitchell, lead their team to a historic state championship in class 4A. We can't wait to see what you do next year!

This year is also the third year in a row (Wendy Liu - 2022, Samantha Bolze - 2021) that an MVSA player has captured Player of the Year honors . Who knows, if there hadn't been a "COVID year" during which the high school season was cancelled, maybe it would be the fourth year?

Congratulations to everyone that made the list. You should be incredibly proud of your accomplishment!

Player of the Year

Ema Djordjevic / Junior / Setter-RS / Richard Montgomery (Starz 17)

First Team

  • Avery Beall / Senior / MH / Damascus (Chaos 18)
  • Casey Bradley / Senior / Libero / Richard Montgomery (Chaos 18)

Second Team

  • Anneliese Leo / Senior / Setter / Churchill
  • Ariel Mazor / Junior / MH / Walter Johnson (Chaos 18)
  • Ellie Mitchell / Sophomore / OH / Richard Montgomery (Sparks 16)
  • Iris Duan / Junior / Setter / Poolesville (Starz 17)
  • Kareena Rathnam / Junior / Libero / Churchill (Starz 17)
  • Sherry Ye / Junior / Libero / Churchill (Starz 17)

Honorable Mention

  • Caroline Botti / Senior / RS / Damascus (Chaos 18)
  • Caroline Kaye / Junior / MH / Richard Montgomery (Starz 17)
  • Corinne Howard / Junior / MH / Richard Montgomery (Starz 17)
  • Jordyn Palazzo / Junior / OH / Watkins Mill (Starz 17)
  • Joyce Magnon / Senior / MH / Magruder
  • Marissa Pease / Senior / Libero / Magruder (Chaos 18)
  • Megan Milke / Senior / Setter / Sherwood (Chaos 18)
  • Sofia Silberfeld / Junior / Setter / Walter Johnson (Blaze 17)

Ema Djordjevic, MCPS 2023 Player of the Year. Photos provided with permission by Patrick Agustin and Zoey Tahardi.

Full All-County List

Please see below for the full all-county list as determined by MCPS coach voting.

Player of the Year

Name Position School
Ema Djordjevic S/RS Richard Montgomery HS

1st Team All-County

Name Position School
Avery Beall MH Damascus HS
Casey Bradley L Richard Montgomery HS
Daniella Oyekola MH Wootton HS
Emma Baldridge S Damascus HS
Kaiyana Rawlins L Paint Branch HS
Lena McCarthy L Clarksburg HS
Neve Norris OH Gaithersburg HS
Sierra Evans OH Kennedy HS
Sonia Breslawec OH Winston Churchill HS
Taryn Su S Wootton HS

2nd Team All-County

Name Position School
Anneliese Leo S Winston Churchill HS
Ariel Mazor MH Walter Johnson HS
Ellie (Elizabeth) Mitchell OH Richard Montgomery HS
Iris Duan S Poolesville HS
Jessica Chen L Wootton HS
Kareena Rathnam L Winston Churchill HS
Maren Balint RS Bethesda-Chevy Chase HS
Savannah Weisman MH Sherwood HS
Sherry Ye L Winston Churchill HS
Stephany Romero L Kennedy HS

Honorable Mention All-County

Name Position School
Alana Scott RS Damascus HS
Caroline Botti RS Damascus HS
Caroline Kaye MH Richard Montgomery HS
Corinne Howard MH Richard Montgomery HS
Eden Tardy OH Quince Orchard HS
Elly VanLandingham L Quince Orchard HS
Giovanna Cirilli OH Clarksburg HS
Jordyn Palazzo OH Watkins Mill HS
Joyce Magnon MH Col. Zadok Magruder HS
Kaila Baker OH Paint Branch HS
Marissa Pease L Col. Zadok Magruder HS
Megan Milke S Sherwood HS
Mya Martin L Northwood HS
Naima Cho-Khaliq MH Wootton HS
Scarlett Potter L Bethesda-Chevy Chase HS
Sofia Silberfeld S Walter Johnson HS